top of page

Day Two of Yoga Teacher Training


After the excitement of the very first day of Yoga Teacher Training, the second day was equally amazing and so packed with hands-on learning.

I absolutely love that we start our day with a yoga practice and meditation, and on this day we also finished with another yoga practice.

Some of my random thoughts from day two:

- I had only experienced chanting and Om at one local class and at the Wanderlust Yoga Festival, very briefly. It felt a little odd back then, but now that I have learned a little more about it, the meaning, the purpose, and how to do it... it doesn't feel so uncomfortable. I can't say I love that part yet and I was really nervous to lead the group

into Om for practice, but I am learning.

- There are SO MANY types of yoga. We brainstormed as a group and listed so many types! The majority fall into Hatha Yoga branch of yoga, which is what we are learning.

- Sun Salutation A was a big focus that day and I was a bit lost. I've done Sun Salutation before but I realized I never really memorized it.

- Yoga is so, so, so much about the breath. We did an interesting exercise that really drove that home for me, on a teaching point, how important it is to give the right breath calls during a class. The kind-of-fun exercise was doing the Sun Salutation but the teacher told us the wrong breath cues. For example, exhaling as we bring our arms up over our heads.

- Pingala Nadi, the nadis and the chakras are all things I look forward to learning a lot more about.

- As much as I love the physical practice, I know I am also so thirsty about learning all about yoga, the history, the philosophy, everything!

- Doing this training makes my weeks even more full, but truly I love learning and I am so grateful I can do this.

image by Maritime Yoga College

bottom of page