top of page

Day Three of Yoga Teacher Training

Day three felt like I was getting into a little bit of the beauty of routine. We started our morning with meditation, first seated meditation and then something completely new to me which was a walking meditation. I am still so new at meditation that I did not realize hat was an option. It made so much sense to me, I easily saw how I will be able to take that practice on one of my solo hikes. Focusing on the movement of each footstep and my breath, gazing lightly at where I was walking, only to not bump into others or a wall. It was truly wonderful for me.

The focus of our morning was holistic nutrition. We shared food, really paying attention to each senses. I feel this was a nice small introduction to this subject, one that I have explored over the years on my own, learning about the effect certain foods have on me, how food is made, the sourcing and sustainability of food, and the importance of the ritual of eating alone and sharing food together with friends and family. I know I will want to dive in again and deeper into that subject.

Our teacher Samantha encouraged us to try a day of silence or part of a day as well as keeping a food diary for two weeks. I have been keeping track of my food this week but so far I have not been able to do the silence part. It’s quite a challenge between working in a retail environment and living with my family. I will keep on looking for opportunities and maybe it will end up being just an hour or two, but it is something that I am curious about.

We get an hour lunch and this has been a fun time, connecting and getting to know the other students. We are truly a really nice group of women! Last Sunday was a little warmer and sunny, several of us went for a short walk together. That is something I knew I needed, stretch our legs, feel the fresh air and sunshine. It was great!

The afternoon focused on learning more asanas in detail. This last week, we focused on plank pose, cobra, and downward facing dog. We also got to practice teach Sun Salutation A first to the class. I was incredibly nervous because I had only found time to practice teaching it once the previous week. It went well and I did a happy dance I was so relieved! The nervous feeling of feeling unprepared is not something I want to experience again, so this week I have been practicing teaching a little more, whenever I can squeeze in time!

We finished our day with a yoga practice and a circle like we do each week. It might sound simple, but we close with that circle and announcing “I am complete” and it feels good. I am very often reminded of Adriene’s words “find what feels good”. At first I took that as a physical message, but now it’s for everything. Closing our day and saying we are complete, that feels good. I have found what feels good and this whole yoga teacher training experience, that feels amazing.

A little #snowga this week!

bottom of page