top of page

Reflections on the First Day


The night before my first day of Yoga Teacher Training I was so excited, I barely slept. I signed up for this course late last summer and have been waiting, not so patiently, for January 7 to come around!

This course will be five months long. We meet every Sunday and a few Saturdays. Many yoga teachers receive their training in a quicker more intensive time wise set up, but this works for my family and I better. For me, I feel that having a week to digest, reflect, and study in between will be helpful.

The first day was amazing. We started with a yoga practice that included a little meditation and some dancing too. I had already done my own practice before arriving because daily yoga is my thing. I need it for my body, mind, and soul.

Practice before teaching training - It was day 6 of #YWATRUE {Yoga with Adriene TRUE 30 day challenge}

My most memorable moments of the first day were:

- first exercise was to go up in front of the class, pretending to be a yoga teacher and doing an intro. It was a nervous experience but one that was exciting at the same time too

- receiving the training manual and the Key Poses of Yoga book

- learning about Anusara yoga for its universal principles of alignments and the energy loops

- learning all about Tadasana and how to describe it so we could then each practice teach it

- learning about Sanskrit and the invocation before teachings

- getting to know the rest of the group!

Homework with a cozy golden milk latte

Day one was all I could wish for. I know this journey is going to be challenging and very likely transforming too. I welcome it, I want to learn more deeply about yoga. I have loved practicing daily yoga for the last three years. I am taking this training for two reasons, first for myself and second for inspiring others, however that will end up looking like, I don't know at this point.

bottom of page